There’s nothing quite like major championship golf.

As you take in this week’s KPMG Women’s PGA Championship at Atlanta Athletic Club, here are five interesting stats to keep in mind.

5. Will we see another first-time major winner?

Simply put, if this week plays out like four of the last five KPMG Women’s PGA Championships contested have, then… most likely, yes.

Four of the last five KPMG Women’s PGA Champions were also first-time major winners. That includes defending champion Sei Young Kim, who claimed her maiden major win at Aronimink in 2020.

Last 5 KPMG Women’s PGA Champions

2016, Brooke Henderson, 1st major
2017, Danielle Kang, 1st major
2018, Sung Hyun Park, 2nd major
2019, Hannah Green, 1st major
2020, Sei Young Kim, 1st major

*Each of the last four winners of this championship held the 54-hole lead or co-lead before going on to victory. The last player to come from behind in the final round to win was Brooke Henderson in 2016.

4. Defending Champion Sei Young Kim SHOWS UP at the majors

When you look at Kim’s scores in relation to par since 2017, it’s clear she brings her “A-game” to the biggest championships in women’s golf.

Since 2017, Kim has recorded seven top-10 finishes in 20 major starts (including 14 in the top 20) and is a combined 71-under par in the majors since 2017, 16 strokes better than any other player in that stretch.

Best Cumulative Score to Par in Majors Since 2017

Sei Young Kim, -71
Inbee Park, -55
Jin Young Ko, -53
So Yeon Ryu, -51
Brooke Henderson, -44
Lexi Thompson, -42

3. Most Top-5 Finishes in Majors Since Beginning of 2017

Lexi Thompson, 6
Sei Young Kim, 5
So Yeon Ryu, 5
Ariya Jutanugarn, 4
Carlota Ciganda, 4
Inbee Park, 4
Jin Young Ko, 4
Shanshan Feng, 4

2. It’s hard to rally in the final round of the KPMG Women’s PGA Championship

In the last five years, 2016 KPMG Women’s PGA Champion Brooke Henderson is the only player who has managed to come from behind in the final round to win the championship. Henderson entered the final round at Sahalee in 2016 trailing leader Lydia Ko by two strokes before ultimately winning with a birdie on the first hole of a playoff.

In 2017 and 2018, eventual champions Danielle Kang and Sung Hyun Park – respectfully – were 54-hole co-leaders. In 2019 and 2020, meanwhile, Hannah Green and Sei Young Kim each had sole-possession of the 54-hole lead.

1. The KPMG Women’s PGA Championship has been kind to defending champions

Except for Inbee Park’s missed cut as the defending KPMG Women’s PGA Champion in 2016, every other champion in the last five years has made the cut and finished inside the top 33 in their title defense, highlighted by Brooke Henderson (in 2017) and Sung Hyun Park (2019), who both finished runner up in their respective title defense.

Don’t feel too bad for Inbee Park. Her missed cut as the defending champion in 2016 came as she was seeking to win her fourth consecutive KPMG Women’s PGA Championship.

Related News