Loading, please wait...
03 Jun 2016

Unprecedented Field Set for the 2016 KPMG Women’s PGA Championship


24 Major Champions Highlight the Field at Sahalee Country Club

SAMMAMISH, Wash. – Three-time defending champion Inbee Park, World No. 1-ranked Lydia Ko and golf’s hottest player, Thailand’s Ariya Jutanugarn, lead the strongest and deepest field ever assembled for the KPMG Women’s PGA Championship, June 7-12, at Sahalee Country Club in Sammamish, Washington.

For the first time, each of the top 100 players on the LPGA Official Money List are included in the 156-player field, including 24 major champions.

Park captured titles in 2013, 2014 and last year among her seven career majors. She will be joined by nine past Women’s PGA Champions: Laura Davies (1994, 1996); Se Ri Pak (1998, 2002, 2006); Juli Inkster (1999, 2000); Karrie Webb (2001); Suzann Pettersen (2007); Yani Tseng (2008, 2011); Anna Nordqvist (2009); Cristie Kerr (2010); and Shanshan Feng (2012).

Ko, 19, is making her fourth consecutive KPMG Women’s PGA Championship appearance, and third as a professional. The LPGA’s leading money-earner is the youngest of player to be ranked No. 1 on any Tour in the history of professional golf.

The KPMG Women’s PGA Championship features a $3.5 million purse, among the highest in women’s golf. The Championship is operated by the PGA of America in partnership with the LPGA.

There are 24 Major Champions, owning a combined 58 major titles in the KPMG Women’s PGA Championship field. They are: Na Yeon Choi; In Gee Chun; Paula Creamer; Laura Davies; Shanshan Feng; Juli Inkster; Cristie Kerr; Hyo Joo Kim; Lydia Ko; Stacy Lewis; Brittany Lincicome; Catriona Matthew; Mo Martin; Anna Nordqvist; Se Ri Pak; Inbee Park; Suzann Pettersen; Morgan Pressel; So Yeon Ryu; Lexi Thompson; Yani Tseng; Karrie Webb; Michelle Wie and Sun Young Yoo.

PGA/LPGA Club Professionals
PGA/LPGA Professional Laurie Rinker of Stuart, Florida, who won last summer’s LPGA Teaching & Club Professionals National Championship, leads an eight-member contingent LPGA/PGA Professionals in the field. Rinker, 53, tied for seventh in the 1987 LPGA Championship.

The group also features PGA of America members Karen Paolozzi of Roswell, Georgia; and Jessica Carafiello of Stamford, Connecticut. Paolozzi is making her second straight appearance and is the first woman PGA member to win the Georgia PGA Professional Championship. Rounding out the Teaching & Club Professionals are Jennifer Bermingham of Long Beach, California; Elizabeth Caron of West Hartford, Connecticut; Lisa Grimes of Alexandria, Minnesota; and Hillery Wilson of Maryland Heights, Missouri.

Broadcast Schedule
The KPMG Women’s PGA Championship is broadcast in partnership with NBC and Golf Channel. Golf Channel will televise the first two rounds Thursday, June, 9 and Friday, June 10, from 7:00 – 10:00 p.m. ET. NBC coverage of the final two rounds is Saturday, June 11, from 2:00 – 5:00 p.m. and Golf Channel, from 5:00 - 6:00 p.m.; and Sunday, June 12, NBC coverage from 4:30 – 6:00 p.m. ET; and Golf Channel from 6:00 - 8:30 p.m. ET.

The KPMG Women’s PGA Championship — a collaboration between the PGA of America, KPMG and the LPGA Tour — continues the rich tradition of the LPGA Championship. Broadcast in partnership with NBC and Golf Channel, the event combines an annual major golf championship with the KPMG Women’s Leadership Summit and an ongoing charitable initiative – all focused on the development, advancement, and empowerment of women on and off the golf course.


Scores & News
The future of golf is now